Home : Who's Who : Information : Entertainment : Publications : Fitness : Directory : Multimedia : MMA : Forums : Links

 

CompleteMartialArts.com - Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, Book 1)

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, Book 1)
List Price: $6.99
Our Price: $6.99
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours
Manufacturer: Avon
Average Customer Rating: Average rating of 4.5/5Average rating of 4.5/5Average rating of 4.5/5Average rating of 4.5/5Average rating of 4.5/5

Buy it now at Amazon.com!

Binding: Mass Market Paperback
Dewey Decimal Number: 813.6
EAN: 9780061245084
ISBN: 0061245089
Label: Avon
Manufacturer: Avon
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 384
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: 2007-10-30
Studio: Avon

Related Items

Editorial Reviews:

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father—the one responsible for ruining her mother's life. Then she's captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She's amazed she doesn't end up as his dinner—are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn't have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.




Spotlight customer reviews:

Customer Rating: Average rating of 3/5Average rating of 3/5Average rating of 3/5Average rating of 3/5Average rating of 3/5
Summary: Pretty violent but with a nice sense of humor
Comment: The series is written in first person and is about Cat, half-human and half-vampire. Her mum got raped by a vampire and because of that Cat hunts and kills vampires.

In the first book, Halfway to the Grave, she is forced to team up with another vampire called Bones. Bones is pretty much a bounty hunter/hitman and he tries to track down a ruthless vampire who kidnaps and sells human girls. Cat and Bones have an awesome chemestry going on and of course they hook up.

The book reminded me a lot of Buffy, not because she is a vampire slayer but because the book has an awesome sense of humor without being silly. Every other page made me at least smile but at the same time the whole story line was serious enough. Bones also reminded me a little of Spike (before he turned into Buffys lap dog) and I liked that there was no mistaken about how he felt about Cat.

I didn't like that there wasn't a real happy end in the book. I understood the reasons why she acted the way she had to and I know that Bones will be there in the next book but I think I would have been happier if I would have got a happy end

Customer Rating: Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5
Summary: Cat n Bones
Comment: I never watched Buffy or charmed or any of those shows on TV so I wasn't too concerned after reading the bad reviews.

I enjoyed Cat and Bones characters very much. I laughed myself to tears and found the characters to be very funny, charming and steamy. The jealousy had me rolling! The banter between Cat and Bones was my favorite part.

The story moved along very fast. I read the book in a day and quickly downloaded the next one. (I LOVE MY KINDLE) I was not happy with the way the book ended however I am looking forward to the next.



Customer Rating: Average rating of 4/5Average rating of 4/5Average rating of 4/5Average rating of 4/5Average rating of 4/5
Summary: Tremendously good beginning
Comment: Cat is a young half human half vampire who spends evenings staking out every vampire she can set eyes on. She does this as revenge for the rape of her mother by a vampire five months before her premature birth. She also hopes of stumbling upon and killing her father. Her mother encourages her to do this, which really seemed warped to me, this human mom all out for vengence. Then Cat meets Bones. Bones gets the best of her in a match and forces her to team up with him. Only this time, she can only kill the vampires he approves of. Namely, the bad vamps. He explains to her that there are two kinds of vampires. Those that feed because the must and then leave people uninjured, and those that try to harm humans in every way possible. Under their common mission, Cat and Bones grow from a wary working relationship to genuine friendship, to possibly love. This is the story of their relationship, the relationship between Cat and her mother, and also Cat's self-awareness in who she really is. Add in tons of bad guys doing sickening things to people and some great action and what we have is a winner. I like Cat and Bones and it was easy to cheer for them. My only complaint is that the book took longer for me to read then normal and I'm not sure why. This didn't keep my reading nonstop like many of my favorites do. I don't want to discourage paranormal readers from grabbing this book up and I give it a strong four stars.

Customer Rating: Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5
Summary: must read!!!!!
Comment: This is a must read for fans of Kim Harrison's and Charlaine Harris' heroes. It is not as deep as the Rachel Morgan and Sookie Stackhouse novels, but my guess is that this was because it was the first in the series. This book reminded me of the original Anita Blake before she became obsessed with sex. This story has a simple plot with expected twists and turns, yet it made me feel great while reading it and afterwards. I cannot wait to buy book 2 in the series.

Customer Rating: Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5Average rating of 5/5
Summary: Move over Anita Blake and Jean-Claude!
Comment: there's a new and even sexier action duo out now. i have to admit, at the beginning of the book i wasn't too impressed. some of the lines that Cat and Bones used were just corny and drawn-out, and some of the conversations just seemed way dramatic. but as i got more into the book.. WOW! i couldn't put it down! just the right portions of action, gore, and sex. it wasn't too trashy but it gave you just enough.. and leaves you wanting more! though i'm a devout Anita Blake fan, i have to say this new series takes the cake.


Buy it now at Amazon.com!





Top 50 Martial Arts Topsites List

Copyright © 1999-2008 CompleteMartialArts.com. All rights reserved.
powered by My Amazon Store Manager v 2.0, © Stringer Software Solutions