Date: June 19, 2004
Venue: Mandalay Bay Arena
City: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Preliminary card

  • Welterweight bout:  Georges St-Pierre vs.  Jay Hieron
St-Pierre wins by technical knockout (punches) at 1:42 of round one. Hieron was a late replacement for Jason “Mayhem” Miller, who had withdrawn from the card due to ongoing legal problems.
  • Middleweight bout:  Trevor Prangley vs.  Curtis Stout
Prangley wins by submission (neck crank) at 1:05 of round two.
  • Lightweight bout:  Matt Serra vs.  Ivan Menjivar
Serra defeated Menjivar via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).

Main card

  • Middleweight bout:  Evan Tanner vs.  Phil Baroni
Tanner defeated Baroni via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28).
  • Welterweight bout:  Matt Hughes vs.  Renato Verissimo
Hughes defeated Verissimo via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).
  • Heavyweight Championship bout:  Frank Mir vs.  Tim Sylvia
Mir wins by Technical Submission (armbar) at 0:50 of round one. Referee Herb Dean called a stop to the bout when he noticed a break in Sylvia’s arm which appeared to Sylvia and the audience as an early stoppage; it was later revealed that Sylvia had indeed suffered multiple fractures to his right forearm.  Mir claims the vacant UFC Heavyweight Championship.
  • Welterweight bout:  Frank Trigg vs.  Dennis Hallman
Trigg wins by TKO (punches) at 4:13 of round one.
  • Heavyweight bout:  Ken Shamrock vs.  Kimo Leopoldo
Shamrock wins by TKO (knee strike) at 1:23 of round one.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,